Sometimes Improvise

living in New York City has a million advantages and a few disadvantages…or so I thought.  since my arrival I have lived in 5 different apartments in NYC and luckily none were the crazy tiny closets that many speak of… grant it, they weren’t penthouses, however they were small by most non-NYC standards. it took a few years for me to figure out how to live in a small space, the key is multifunctional furniture, purging, and unique storage options.  these are my “3 Living in Small Spaces Solutions” and my October project provided my most recent solution…

problem: i need dining table chairs!

i have a delightful glass top coffee table that transitions into a dining table (multifunctional furniture) that I got from West Elm  a little over a year ago. its perfect for my space, however I didn’t have dining chairs to accompany the table for the longest. i knew the chairs would need to be folding, but quite frankly folding chairs often look hideous. i also did not want to allot closet space to store folding chairs. my solution, folding chairs that the could hang on the wall and still look pretty, almost like a piece of art…enter Ikea.  i picked up four Terje chairs ($18 each), and used some beautiful hand dyed batik fabric to make permanent cushions.  the result was chairs that are comfy and pretty enough to adorn my foyer walls  (hanging chair pics to come later).

Im really happy with how they came out. what do you think?

image image

these chairs taught me something about myself. prior to creating the cushions I was talking to my Beau about how I felt the condo was very hodge-podge, with different colors, and that it lacked a melodic flow or visual theme. once I completed the cushions he pointed out that the fabric I used was exactly the opposite of that flow I spoke of, I realized, Im not monotone, I don’t flow melodically. i love colors, textures, and designs. i adore contrast, visual interest and unique pieces.

so that’s me.

Update, January 2014

as promised, I have finally hung the chairs, well two of them. one of them is in my living space for additional seating and the other one is still pending a home.

20140209-212948.jpg

 

One thought on “Sometimes Improvise

  1. It is the best time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to
    be happy. I have read this publish and if I could I desire to suggest you few fascinating things or tips.
    Maybe you could write subsequent articles relating to this
    article. I wish to learn more things approximately
    it!

Leave a Reply

